In a joint statement, the European Union, U.S. and other Western countries announced they will commit to five measures in response to Russia's invasion of Ukraine. The measures are: cutting off selected Russian banks from the SWIFT international payments system, imposing restrictions on Russia’s Central Bank, limiting the sale of golden passports that allow wealthy Russians to become citizens of Western countries and exploit their financial systems, launching a trans-Atlantic task force to track down the assets of sanctioned Russians, and stepping up coordination against Russian disinformation and other forms of hybrid warfare.
Vladimir Putin United States European Union Ukraine Sanctions Russia SWIFT

Related Timelines

This topic is part of 3 timelines. Explore the complete timeline to see this item in a broader context.

  1. 2022 Russian Invasion of Ukraine
  2. Russia
  3. European Union

Just the Facts

Facteroid items are consise and factual. No editorializing, commentary, or clickbait.

Site design, logos, and content © 2021 Facteroid unless specified otherwise. Individual news and data pages may be licensed differently as specified on those pages.