A Texas law, HB20, that bars social media companies from banning users based on their political views was temporarily blocked in a 5-4 Supreme Court ruling. Justices John Roberts, Amy Coney Barrett, Sonia Sotomayor, Stephen Breyer, and Brett Kavanaugh ruled in favor of tech industry groups looking to block the law, with Samuel Alito, Clarence Thomas, Neil Gorsuch dissenting, and Elena Kagan denying the application.
Texas US Supreme Court Social Media

Related Timelines

This topic is part of 3 timelines. Explore the complete timeline to see this item in a broader context.

  1. Texas
  2. U.S. Supreme Court
  3. Social Media

Just the Facts

Facteroid items are consise and factual. No editorializing, commentary, or clickbait.

Site design, logos, and content © 2021 Facteroid unless specified otherwise. Individual news and data pages may be licensed differently as specified on those pages.